दृष्ट्या पापीयसीं सृष्टिं नात्मानं बह्वमन्यत |

भगवद्ध्यानपूतेन मनसान्यां ततोऽसृजत् ||३  

सनकं च सनन्दं च सनातनमथात्मभूः |

सनत्कुमारं च मूनी न्नष्क्रियानूध्वरेतस ||४

When Lord Brahmā decided to commence the sequence of creation, he created five types of ignorance- tama, moha, mahā-moha, tāmisra, and andhatāmisra. Seeing what a troublesome creation it was, he could not really appreciate his own doing. Thus, after purifying his mind by meditating upon the lotus feet of the Supreme Lord, Brahmā thought of doing it (the creation) all over again for the second time. Then, Brahmā created the four Kumāras- Sanaka, Sanandan, Sanātana and Sanat-kumāra, who are eternally liberated and are lifelong celibates. The above sequence of events are mentioned in the Srimad Bhāgvat Mahāpuran- Canto 3- Chapter 12- Verse 3 and 4. 

The four Kumāras are also known as ‘mānas putra’ or the sons born out of Brahmā’s contemplation. Famous throughout the Puranic literature, they are renowned yogis, who requested their father- Brahmā for the boon of remaining five years old perpetually. They can travel freely to any of the lokas (planes of existence) and are one among the 12 Mahajans- knowers of the divine principle (Bhagavat-dharm).  

It is found in Padma Purana that Nārad Muni’s quest for real knowledge led him to the four Kumāras. Upon this, the four Kumāras tell Nārad that as long as people do not hear Lord Krishna’s pastimes, Bhakti does not get established in their hearts. Without Bhakti no one can obtain real knowledge, nor can they understand the real meaning of true detachment. The only necessary thing to invite Bhakti, Gyān and Vairagya in one’s heart is listening to Srimad Bhāgavatam. On hearing this, Nārad Muni requested the four Kumāras to narrate the Srimad Bhāgavatam. The four Kumāras obliged Nārad and thus became the narrator of the Srimad Bhāgvat Mahāpuran.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
  • Nahusha

Nahusha’s Tale of Pride and Deposition from Heaven

December 6th, 2021|0 Comments

मूर्खस्य पञ्च चिन्हानि गर्वो दुर्वचनं तथा। क्रोधश्च दृढवादश्च परवाक्येष्वनादरः॥ There are five signs of fools - Pride, abusive language, anger, stubborn arguments, and disrespect towards other people's opinions. Pride is considered as one of the ...

  • संसार में कार्य करते हुए भक्ति कैसे करें

सांसार में कार्य करते हए भक्ति कैसे करें

December 1st, 2021|0 Comments

उपरोक्त शीर्षक के संदर्भ में वेद कहता है कि बंधन और मोक्ष का कारण मन की अवस्था अर्थात मनसा या भाव के अनुसार होता है न कि बाह्य इन्द्रियों के कार्य आंख, कान, जिव्हा आदि ...

  • Never Give Up

The Never-Give-Up Attitude

November 29th, 2021|0 Comments

Around us, we see both successful and unsuccessful people. But what differentiates the successes from the failures? Even successful people have failed multiple times. But the only difference is that the successful people fell down, ...

  • Narakasura

The Story of Narakasura

November 2nd, 2021|7 Comments

The second day of the 5-day long festival of Deepavali is known as Narak Chaturdashi. Narak Chaturdashi goes by various names in different parts of the country. In Northern India, it is celebrated as Chhoti ...

  • Sharat Poornima

शरदपूर्णिमा का महत्व

October 20th, 2021|0 Comments

श्रीकृष्ण भक्तों को लिए शरदपूर्णिमा सर्वश्रेष्ठ पर्व है क्योकि शरदपूर्णिमा के दिन ही अनंत सौंदर्य, माधुर्य सुधा रस सिंधु रसिक शिरोमणि श्याम सुंदर ने रासेश्वरी श्री राधारानी का आश्रय लेकर अधिकारी जीवों के साथ महारास ...